Advisory Board

Grant Samuel's non-executive Advisory Board comprises highly-respected and experienced Australian business leaders.

John Coates AC

John Coates is President of the Australian Olympic Committee Inc. (since 1990) and Vice President of the International Olympic Committee, a member of the IOC Coordination Commission for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro and Chair of the IOC Coordination Commission for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Mr Coates is Chairman of William Inglis & Son Ltd, President of the International Council of Arbitration for Sport and Court of Arbitration for Sport and a member of the Sydney Olympic Park Authority.

He became a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia in 1989 for service to rowing and was appointed an Officer (AO) in 1995. In 2006, he was awarded the country’s then highest civilian honour as a Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC).

John C Conde AO

John Conde is Chairman of BUPA Australia, Chairman of the McGrath Foundation, Chairman of Cooper Energy and Chairman of the Australian Olympic (NSW) Fundraising Committee. He is President of the Commonwealth Remuneration Tribunal, Deputy Chairman of Whitehaven Coal Limited and a Director for Dexus Property Group.

He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1994 in recognition of services to business and commerce.

Mr Conde was previously a Director of BHP Billiton, Lumley Corporation and Excel Coal, Managing Director of Broadcast Investment Holdings and President of the National Heart Foundation.

Steven Gregg

Steven Gregg has over 30 years investment banking experience. Steven joined ABN Amro in 1997 becoming Head of Investment Banking, Australasia in 2000 and then in 2004 Global Head of Investment Banking and CEO, United Kingdom. Subsequently, he became a partner of McKinsey & Company in Sydney, working in its Corporate Finance and Financial Institutions practice.

Mr Gregg is Non-executive Director of Caltex Australia Limited, Tabcorp Holdings Limited, Challenger Financial Corporation Limited and William Inglis & Son Limited. He is Chairman of The Lorna Hodgkinson Sunshine Homes and a trustee of the Australian Museum.

Mr Gregg was previously Chairman of Goodman Fielder Limited and Chairman of Austock Group Limited.

Peter M Margin

Peter Margin has many years of leadership experience in major Australian and International food companies. His most recent role was as Chief Executive of Goodman Fielder Limited, and prior to that, Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of National Foods Limited. Mr Margin has also held senior management roles in Simplot Australia Limited, Pacific Brands Limited, East Asiatic Company and HJ Heinz Company Australia Limited.

Mr Margin is Executive Chairman of the Advisory Board of Asahi Holdings Australia Pty Limited and Non-executive Chairman of Huon Aquaculture Limited. He is Non- executive Director of Bega Cheese Limited, PMP Limited, Nufarm Limited, Pact Limited and Costa Group Limited.

Peter Margin has a Bachelor of Science (Hons 1) from the University of NSW and holds a Master of Business Administration from Monash University.

Robert Johanson

Robert is chairman of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited. He is Deputy Chancellor of the University of Melbourne and chairman of the University’s Investments Committee, the Australia India Institute and The Conversation Media Group. He was previously an executive director at Grant Samuel with 30 years’ experience in a wide variety of merger and acquisition transactions.

Mr Johanson is also chairman of MBD Energy and the Australian Friends of Asha Slums and a director of Neuclone and the Robert Salzer Foundation Limited.

James M Millar AM

James Millar is the former Chief Executive Officer and Oceania Area Managing Partner of Ernst & Young and was a member of the Ernst & Young Global Board. His career prior to the leadership roles at Ernst & Young was as a corporate reconstruction professional.

Mr Millar is Non-executive Director of Mirvac Limited, Mirvac Funds Limited, Fairfax Media Limited, Macquarie Radio Network Limited and Slater & Gordon (from January 2016). He is Chairman of the Forestry Corporation of NSW and Chairman of the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation (EFIC).

Mr Millar is a director, trustee or member of a number of not-for-profit and charitable organisations. He is a director of Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation, a trustee of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation, a Member of the UNSW Australian School of Business Advisory Council and a Governing Member of the Smith Family.

In 2012 Mr Millar was appointed a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia for service to business and commerce and for community leadership.

David A Mortimer AO

David Mortimer has wide-ranging experience in the banking, finance and transport industries and is a former managing director and chief executive officer of TNT.

Mr Mortimer is presently Chairman of Crescent Capital Partners, Opera Australia, Alpha Agricultural Investment Partners and the Buildcorp Advisory Board. He is a Director of Petsec Energy, MySale Group and of the Clayton Utz Foundation. He is also a Fellow of The University of Sydney and Chair of the Senate Investment and Commercialisation Committee.

He previously held the position of Chairman of Australia Post, Leighton Holdings, Sydney Airports Corporation, MIA Group, and Citect Corporation. Mr Mortimer was also formerly a director of the Australian Tourist Commission, Adsteam Marine, Sigma Pharmaceuticals and Intoll Management (previously Macquarie Infrastructure Management).

In 2005, Mr Mortimer was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to business and commerce through innovative and visionary leadership, as an adviser to government, and to the community.